Different types of fiberglass cloth explanation question

Talk about favorite or hated suppliers, recommend good materials or sources, or anything of the same ilk. This is also a good place to suggest unique ideas and innovations you may have come up with.
Jasper Windvane
Bottom Paint Application Technician

Different types of fiberglass cloth explanation question

Post by Jasper Windvane »

I have very little experience so ?? The only fiberglass I've used is shiny, smooth material.. but there is biaxial cloth, etc..
what is the difference between these glass cloths?
bcooke
Master of the Arcane
Boat Name: Jenny
Boat Type: 1966 Pearson Triton

Post by bcooke »

Stealing from the Jamestown Distributors website...
Biaxial fabric is non-woven. It consists of two layers that are stitched together, and instead of the fiber strands lying along the roll and across at 90 degree as in conventional woven fabrics, they lie at +/- 45 degrees to the edges.
The stuff I get from JD has some mat stitched to one side which makes for a thicker laminate. Sort of like the modern equivilent of roving and mat... (inside joke :-P) When you look it up in the catalogues you will notice it often comes in much heavier weights than woven cloth. I use it for structural tabbing and for building up a thick piece quickly (i.e. building solid fiberglass core under my mast step). I am out of my element here but the strands at 45 degrees to the edge (and presumably the anticipated loads) transfer the stress better.

It is quite strong but doesn't finish up too well so if you need a nice finished surface you could put a lightweight layer of ordinary woven cloth on top.

As for the myriad of other fiberglass clothes, I don't have a clue. I have never used them.

-Britton
-Britton
Work is overrated.

Most everything you read on the Internet is wrong.

The Website
The Blog
bcooke
Master of the Arcane

Post by bcooke »