Exterior Mahogany on Pearson Electra

Talk about favorite or hated suppliers, recommend good materials or sources, or anything of the same ilk. This is also a good place to suggest unique ideas and innovations you may have come up with.
Bob Lascelles
Bottom Paint Application Technician
Boat Name: English Muffin 2
Boat Type: Pearson Electra

Exterior Mahogany on Pearson Electra

Post by Bob Lascelles »

Hi,
I'm the proud new owner of a 1963 Pearson Electra Hull, # 254 (Englishmuffin2). I'm hoping to get her in the water for this season, so I've been building a list of things that need to be completed for this season or can be put off until the future. This is my first time writing to the forum, so please excuse me if these questions have been previously asked/answered.

The varnish on the exterior trim had been left go many years ago, the wood is heavily weathered and what's left of the finish is hanging in bits and pieces. Along with caulking as many leaks as I can find, all the trim needs to be redone to protect the good stuff. After stripping and cleaning I'm planning on using Sikkens Cetol Marine Teak. I've used it before on my previous boats and liked the results on teak. However, it looks to me like the exterior trim cockpit combings, drop boards, companionway frames, forward hatch cover on my Electra may not be teak (the grain doesn't look right to me and there is a lot of splitting). Could they be mahogany? I think I remember many years ago an owner of a Pearson Ensign told me his trim was mahogany.