Epoxy-Plus

Talk about favorite or hated suppliers, recommend good materials or sources, or anything of the same ilk. This is also a good place to suggest unique ideas and innovations you may have come up with.
Tony G
Deck Grunge Scrubber

Epoxy-Plus

Post by Tony G »

I just did some mock-ups this morning using Epoxy-Plus. I've never done anything with this resin before but I now own 10 gallons of it! I'm hoping it was too good of a deal to pass up. I've always used West Systems on my other boats and projects and I do like it alot. It's predictable and flexible as far as use options go but this party had five gallons of resin and five gallons of hardener, 100' of six inch tape and 12yds of cloth and five pounds of wood flour (I believe) for 200 bucks. What I'm hoping to extract here is some opinions on Epoxy-Plus. Good stuff? Bad stuff? Just stuff? I don't want to hear only the good(assuming there is some)-the truth will save me alot more heart-ache and time. 'tis the season for laying glass around here in four months it'll be turning cold again. I really envy you nine-month a year sailors. Tony G
Figment
Damned Because It's All Connected
Boat Name: Triton
Boat Type: Grand Banks 42

Post by Figment »

well, a week has gone by with no informed responses, so I'll blather for a bit.

TEN GALLONS of epoxy and FIVE POUNDS of woodflour!!!!! YOWZA!

that's like.... a whole fleet of canoes just waiting to happen!

seriously.... I've never used or even heard of "epoxy plus" before. In your situation I'd spend some time experimenting before doing any actual work. The stuff was super cheap, right?

Do some laminations at different temperatures, and under different conditions of humidity. Then test them for adhesion, brittleness, etc...

Also, see how inaccurate you can be in your mix ratio before the stuff just stops behaving.
dasein668
Boateg
Boat Name: Dasein
Boat Type: Pearson Triton 668

Post by dasein668 »