Just Aquired a Triton

Ask a question...get an answer (or two).
Reu
Bottom Paint Application Technician

Just Aquired a Triton

Post by Reu »

I just bought Pearson Triton hull # 455 located in Juneau Alaska. It needs lots of love. I could, and likely will go into great detail in the coming months, but right now, it's raining, and the boat dosen't have a bilge pump.

I am a rookie, I have never sailed, and most of what I know about boats pertains to skiffs. Thus I will likely be asking some rather ignorant questions for a time.

One thing I do know is that I need a couple bilge pumps in there. Which in turn means I need a battery charger. When I look on-line at options, it takes a great deal of time sorting everything out, and usually I am left with more questions. I am looking at installing 2 Rule pumps, perhaps a 2000gph and a 1500gph. Any advice on the charger setup, location?

Also, I have to change the zincs, but before I jump in the drink, can anyone tell me the likely size and locations of said zincs? The water is a tad cold here this time of year, and I would like to limit my time in it.

I plan on pulling the boat this spring (likey the first time it's been pulled in at least a few years) and give the bottom a good sanding, and repaint. Before that, I may jump in the water and gently scrape the bulk of that growth off. Any thoughts/suggested precautions regarding such a procedure?

Any and all assistance is welcome, thanks in advance.
Tim
Shipwright Extraordinaire
Boat Name: Glissando
Boat Type: Pearson Triton

Post by Tim »

Bilge pumps: if the boat leaks enough that auto pumps run down your battery (thus requiring a charger), then fix the leaks. There's really no two ways about it: leakage of that sort is untenable.