Bottom cleaning whilst in the water -

Ask a question...get an answer (or two).
Gerald A. Gotts
Bottom Paint Application Technician

Bottom cleaning whilst in the water -

Post by Gerald A. Gotts »

I am a certified scuba diver . I would like any ideas on how to clean the bottom of my boat. What do you use to keep yourself close to the hull ? Would some kind of line tied from toerail to toerail be the ticket ? What should I use on fiberglass ? A scraper or just a stiff brush? I guess it is obvious that I'm new at this. I want to do this very low-tech this time and maybe pressure wash the next time.

Regards,

Jerry
Rachel
Master of the Arcane

Post by Rachel »

There's a purpose-made tool called a "Hol-Tite" which is a U-shaped piece of plastic with a suction cup on the end of either "leg" of the U. You stick it to the hull and then you can hang on and apply pressure without floating away from the boat. About $15. (West Marine has them among other places.)

They're handy (as long as one does not have grooves or fake lapstrakes in the hull), but I've also used a toilet plunger in a pinch.

Edit: Forgot about the other part of your question: I've used a few different tools (all on the same boat, for different areas or different types of growth).

--Scraper (i.e. putty knife)
--3M pad (with a handle, like the thing on the left in the photo below)
--Wire brush shaped like an industrial toothbrush (prop, inside through-hulls)
--Regular old bristle scrub brush.

Last edited by Rachel on Sat Jul 26, 2008 11:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Hirilondë
Master of the Arcane
Boat Name: Hirilondë
Boat Type: 1967 Pearson Renegade

Post by Hirilondë »

It won't be long before bottom cleaning in the water is illegal. As a CT Clean Marina we can't do it already.
Dave Finnegan
builder of Spindrift 9N #521 'Wingë'
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------